There are specific learning standards developed by New York State for English as a Second Language Learners and all lessons are developed and presented with these standards in mind:


Standard 1: English for information and understanding

Standard 2: English for literary response, enjoyment and expression

Standard 3: English for critical analysis and evaluation

Standard 4: English for social and classroom interaction

Standard 5: English for cross-cultural knowledge and understanding


Some topics that we learn about in ESL are……


  • Plants and Animals
  • Weather and Seasons
  • Community Workers
  • Maps and Graphs
  • American Holidays and Customs
  • Food and Nutrition
  • Families and Communities



  • Clothing
  • Parts of the Body
  • The Five Senses
  • Rooms/Items in a House
  • Persuasive Writing
  • Friendly Letters
  • Comparing Literature
  • Transportation

Back to ESL Page