Please Scroll Down to View All Articles

NCTE Promising Young Writers

Four eighth-graders from North and South Middle Schools have been named 2017 National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) Promising Young Writers. They are Carly Fan from North Middle, and Yuna Ahn, Ethan Jiang, and Mika Langel from South Middle. Each received Certificates for Superior Writing. In this year's competition, 163 students were nominated as Promising Young Writers, with 67 being chosen. Nominees submitted two pieces of writing--best and themed--which were read by national judges. Papers were judged on content, purpose, audience tone, word choice, organization, development, and style. Best writing was a piece that the student considers his or her best work. Themed writing is based on a topic developed by the Promising Young Writers Advisory Committee. This year's theme was, "Innovators, Visionaries, and Rebels: Celebrating Risk-takers." Students were asked to choose a book, poem, story, news article, film, Web site, or something else they've read that was innovative, inspiring, or provocative, and write about why they chose this text and why/how it was innovative, inspiring, or provocative in important ways. Students could write in any format, such as narrative, poetry, short story, or drama.


North High Girls Track Team--Division Champs


The North High School Girls Track Team won the 2017 Division Championships. Individual team members also won All-Division or All-County. Team members, with their individual achievement in parentheses, are: Amie Adjakple (All-Division), Leah Ahdoot, Vanessa Anderson, Kayla Bakhshi, Breanna Brady (All-Division), Gabriella Burgos (All-Division), Ashley Chaman, Kayla Chan, Vera Cho, Melina Cornejo, Austyn Durham (All-County), Lindsay Elnekaveh, Odellia Etaat (All-Division), Lily Guggenheimer, Lauren Hakimi, Ashley Hakimian, Cate Hakimian, Chloe Katchis (All-Division), Samantha Law (All-County), Tamar Levy, Xintian (Aaryn) Li, Aviya Litman (All-County), Olivia Liu, Victoria Liu (All-Division), Alexandra Lux, Sharona Moradi, Yoselin Moran, Maya Mualem (All-Division), Netta Mualem (All-Division), Alexis Namdar (All-Division), Nerissa Ng, Talia Paisner, Claire Pan, Jade Pan, Emilia Pedersen (All-Division), Maya Ran, Alexandra Roubeni, Daria Scolnick, Jordana Shalit, Talya Tehrani, Daniela Vazquez (All-Division), and Nicole Victory. Team coaches are Joseph Bonvicino and Israel Henriquez.

GNPS Staff Granted Tenure


At its meeting on June 19, the Great Neck Public Schools Board of Education, upon the recommendation of the superintendent, granted tenure to three administrators and 20 teachers. Board President Barbara Berkowitz called the granting of tenure a "very big deal here in Great Neck." She joined with the candidates' gathered families and friends to "acknowledge, celebrate, and applaud their accomplishments." She said that the candidates had "exceeded the toughest standards." Superintendent Teresa Prendergast "strongly recommended" each candidate having first met individually with each of them. She said that the candidates were recommended for their "hard work, standard of excellence, and innovations." Principals and administrators spoke on behalf of the candidates they were recommending for tenure, expressing common themes: candidates are passionate about their work, they bring out the best in their students, and they engage their students and help them to love to learn.

Administrators - granted tenure were: North Middle School Assistant Principal Nancy Gunning, Kennedy School Assistant Principal Kathleen Murray, and Director of Community Education Samantha Tarantola.

North High School teachers - (subject area in parentheses) awarded tenure were: Cara Accardi (business education), Erin Lee (ENL–English as a New Language), John-Paul Mannebach (social studies), and Jennifer Nastri (speech/language).

At North Middle - Lauren Ferguson (science) and Savannah Puca (special education) were granted tenure.

At South High School - Kristen Campanelli (special education) and Kathleen Malone-Sparaccio (reading) were granted tenure.

South Middle School teachers - granted tenure: Lindsay Cheng (special education), Sivan Erstein (psychologist), Maria Giannopoulos (foreign language), and Brian Pernice (science).

At Baker School - Deanna Bausch (literacy coordinator) and David Cheng (psychologist) were granted tenure.

At Kennedy and at Lakeville – Connor Heaney (special education) and Lindsay Krellenstein (speech/language), respectively, were granted tenure.

Granted tenure from Saddle Rock School - were Jacqueline Klein (special education) and Melanie Weingarten (speech/language).

At Parkville School - Dara Gelb (special education) and Kaitlin Grubb (speech/language) were granted tenure.


Adult Learning Center Grads

ALC Grads

The Great Neck Public Schools Adult Learning Center, at its recent graduation ceremony, recognized recipients of New York State High School Equivalency Diplomas, those who have met NYS benchmarks for English language proficiency, and those who are new citizens of the United States. Present at the ceremony were Board of Education members (President Barbara Berkowitz, Vice President Lawrence Gross, and Trustees Susan Healy and Donna Peirez), and school and district administrators. Board Trustee Donald Ashkenase was unable to attend.

Those who received High School Equivalency Diplomas - Ileana Alfonso, Dorcas Aregbesola, Miguel Cabrera, Oneida Castaneda, Leticia Cenedes Pereira, Zhen Cheung, Mi Yeong Cho, Wanru Dou, Beverli Espinell, Behnaz Ghahremani Asl, Jun He, Gervie Hiwatig, Motoko Huang, Aysel Kanar Gokbulut, In Young Kim, Young Ok Kwon, Xing Tong Li, Ying Li, Fabiana Marques, Hercules Nikolopoulos, Noah Ohebshalom, Sheetal Patel, Eva Perdichizzi, Vilma Salmeron , Jeanine Sanchez, Caroline Stewart, Yuki Tsutsumi, Manhua Wang, Yingyue Wang, Qiaoling Xie, and Xiaoli Xu.

ENL (English as a New Language) graduates - Suhua Bai, Cleide Bispo Ferraz, Kelly Castillo, Nathali Castillo, Yi Lu Cham, Guijing Chen, Jun Yung Chen, Shuyun Cho, Jocelyn Cobian, Feng Gao, Mei Ni Hu, Xiubin Huang, Yi Fei Jin, Xu Li, Maria Linares, Shamsiddin Mukaddasov, Jose Matute, Yesica Ramirez, Leonor Cristin Reyes Redrovan, Lyudmila Sheydina, Lilian Villalobos, Kai Xi, Mudao Xiao, Xiaohong Yu, and Xie Long Zha.
New US Citizens - Jorge Aguila, Maria Carvalho, George Cubas, Jose Garcia, Winsome Griffiths, Maria Interiano, Xiao Yan Liu, Carlos Silva, Deolinda Silva, Maria Soares Vieira, Nasim Tazeh, and Edison Vieira.