• Hebrew Language Course Descriptions


    Please click here to access our Hebrew Checkpoint A course profile. See below for the breakdown of the courses in which each topic is taught.


    Hebrew Grade 6

    In sixth grade, students will begin to build a foundation and a passion for language learning through the four modalities of: listening, speaking, reading and writing. Students will interact daily in the target language and will develop their vocabulary and grammatical skills for communicative success. Students will also enhance their cultural competence as it is infused in daily lessons and the curriculum.     

    5 Periods Per Week - Full Year


    Hebrew Grade 7

    Hebrew 7 is a sequential course to sixth grade. Students will continue to build upon their foundational skills in listening, speaking, reading and writing in the target language. Previously learned topics are revisited and new topics are also introduced. There is a more in depth look at grammatical structures and vocabulary. Students will continue to learn about the various cultural communities as they pertain to the target language. 

    5 Periods Per Week - Full Year


    Hebrew Grade 8 

    The successful completion of sixth and seventh grade is a prerequisite to this course. Previously learned topics and additional topics will be introduced. There is great emphasis on the four modalities of listening, speaking, reading and writing. Students are expected to demonstrate a measurable degree of communicative competence in the target language. At the conclusion of the course, students will participate in the FLACS Checkpoint A Exam. Upon successful completion of the course and the FLACS Checkpoint A exam, students will earn one high school credit. The cumulative, final average and exam score will be included on the students’ high school transcript.   

    5 Periods Per Week - Full Year

    1 Unit of High School Credit