Return to Headlines

2020 National Merit Scholarship Finalists

National Merit Semifinalists

All twelve students from Great Neck South High School who were previously named Semifinalists will advance as Finalists in the prestigious 2020 National Merit Scholarship Competition (NMSC).

The finalists are Tessie Dong, Julia DuVal, Ali Fazal, Austin George, Elizabeth Grosul, Talia Katz, Christina Liu, Timothy Liu, Gabriel Magidson, Shourav Saha, Joelle Siong Sin, and Keena Yin.

PSAT scores for these students were among the highest in the state and their scores on a second examination were as good or better. Having demonstrated exemplary academic performance throughout high school, these students were fully endorsed and recommended by their high school principal. Each student also furnished biographical data and a self-description of interests, activities, accomplishments, and goals.

Over 15,000 of the 16,000 Semifinalists named in September 2019 met all the requirements to advance to Finalist standing in the competition. All Finalists will be considered for National Merit Scholarships to be offered in 2020.