Return to Headlines



The Test Accessing Secondary Completion (TASC) is a New York State high school equivalency assessment that assesses the five subject areas including Reading, Writing, Mathematics, Science and Social Studies.  It measures examinees' levels of achievement relative to that of graduating high school seniors, and career and college readiness, as outlined by the Common Core Standards.

A complete set of official TASC practice tests are administered and used to determine when students will be referred to the exam.  Upon passing the TASC exam, students will earn a New York State High School Equivalency Diploma issued by the New York State Education Department.


Preparing for TASC

Prepare for TASC Exam
What is the HSE/TASC™ Test?
Sample Items & Answer Keys


For more information on how to earn your High School Equivalency (HSE) Diploma, please visit the New York State Department of Education website.