Return to Headlines

National Merit Scholarship Commended Students

Forty-four seniors in the Great Neck Public Schools have been named Commended Students in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program. These students placed among the top 50,000 of the more than 1.5 million students nationwide who took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test in their junior year.

North High Commended Students

North High’s Commended Students are: Cecilia Albin, Stephany Barbu, Ethan Dayani, Zachary Hyman, Amitha Kumar, Ethan Le, Amanda Lee, Zachary Lipp, Katie Ng, William Okin, Andrew Suh, Rachel Sutin, Siyi Wang, Lillian Wu, and Angela Yu.

South High Commended Students

South High’s Commended Students are: Jun Ahn, Antony An, Charlotte Chan, Darin Chan, Gee-Ming Chan, Kenneth Chang, Alexis Chien, Brian Dai, Michelle Fang, Anton Gal, Eleanor Gau, Allie Kam, Abigail Kim, Avery Ko, Kevin Kurian, Andy Liang, Charlene Lin, Beatrice Malfi, Liz Mannooparambil, Rajin Mitra, Yida Pan, Danwoo Song, Hoi Lam Tsang, Arthur Yeung, Nicholas Yeung, Yifan You, Kaileanna Yu, Tiffany Zhang, and Julia Zou.

Each honoree received a Letter of Commendation in recognition of exceptional academic promise. Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some become candidates for scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.