Return to Headlines

National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Twenty-four students in the Great Neck Public Schools have been named Semifinalists in the prestigious 2019 National Merit Scholarship Competition (NMSC).

Semifinalists from North high

John L. Miller-Great Neck North High School Semifinalists (above) are: Yoel Hawa, Isobelle Lim, Isabella Mirro, Joshua Rothbaum, and Lucien Wostenholme.

Semifinalists from South High

William A. Shine-Great Neck South High School Semifinalists are: Yinuo Chen, Annie Dai, Emily Gao, Julia Gorenstein, Hannah Kareff, Nicholas Langel, Samuel Levine, Jay Lin, Joshua Liu, Daniel Lu, Kathleen Lu, Richard Miller, Anthony Pei, Ethan Wang, George Wang, Jennifer Wang, Trinity Wang, William Yan, and Eric Yang.

These Semifinalists are among the 16,000 named nationwide, having scored among the highest in New York State on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which they took last year.

The National Merit Scholarship Program honors individual students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies. These Semifinalists, who represent less than one percent of seniors in the country, will be identified to colleges and universities in order to increase their educational opportunities.

Most Semifinalists will go on to achieve Finalist status in early 2019. Merit Scholarship Winners will be chosen from among the Finalists to receive one or more Merit Scholarship Awards. Awards include: National Merit $2,500 (single-payment scholarships), corporate-sponsored (one-time or renewable four-year awards), and college/university-sponsored (renewable for up to four years). Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC and by some 420 business organizations and higher education institutions.