Return to Headlines

Class of 2019—Barstow & Scott Moss Awards

The Class of 2019 valedictorians and salutatorians for John L. Miller-Great Neck North High School and William A. Shine-Great Neck South High School were featured previously. Other significant graduation awards include the annual Barstow and Scott Moss Awards. A look at these awards, and their recipients, follows.

Barstow Awards

The coveted Frederic Duclos Barstow Award was established in 1962 by Françoise and William Barstow in memory of their only son who died of pneumonia at age 35. The Barstows were prominent Great Neck residents after whom Barstow Road is named. The Barstow Award is given annual to two students at each high school. Recipients of must be in the top 10 percent of their class and be “outstanding in leadership, citizenship, scholarship, and service.” Each recipient receives a monetary prize.

North High School’s valedictorian and salutatorian are traditionally their school’s Barstow Award winners. They are Valedictorian Yoel Hawa and Salutatorian Joshua Rothbaum; both were featured previously.

South High’s Barstow Award winners are Annie Dai and Aaron Nirenstein.

Annie Dai was captain of the badminton team and a member of the Animal and Environmental Awareness Club, Art Club, Asian Culture Society, Ceramics Club, Community Action Committee, DECA, Midnight Run, Physics Club, Rebel Robotics, and Science Olympiad. Annie will attend the University of California, Berkeley.

Aaron Nirenstein was a member of the varsity lacrosse team, Animal and Environmental Awareness Club, Chess Club, Midnight Run, Peer Drug Educators, and Philosophy Club. Aaron will attend the University of Michigan.

Scott Moss Memorial Award

The Scott Moss Award was established in 1977, in memory of Scott, who was an outstanding South High student until his death from cancer. The Award is given to the graduating senior who exemplifies the “service, concern, interest, and ability of Scott Moss.” The recipient of the Scott D. Moss Memorial Award, given at South High School, is Rachel Sakol.

Rachel Sakol was a member of the varsity lacrosse team, and she performed with the chamber orchestra and the Metropolitan Youth Orchestra. She also attended the New York State Summer School of the Arts (NYSSSA) School of Orchestral Studies. Rachel will attend Binghamton University.


Annie Dai   Aaron Nirenstein   Rachel Sakol