Return to Headlines

Board of Education Student Delegates

12 student delegates are photogrpahed seated and standing next to five board of education trustees and the superintendent

Great Neck Public Schools Board of Education student delegates, representing the district’s secondary schools, were introduced to the community at the Board meeting on Oct. 15. These non-voting delegates, selected by their schools, are encouraged to express opinions about educational and student matters, to voice school issues or concerns, and to take pertinent Board agenda items back to their respective schools. Board President Barbara Berkowitz explained that, after the Board speaks, delegates may speak on matters of importance before members of the audience are invited to speak. Ms. Berkowitz also thanked the students for their service and for volunteering their time to represent their schools at Board of Education meetings.

North High School student delegates are: Brad Benilevi, Kelly Chau, Aaron Harouny, and Gracie Tropp-Levy.

South High School student delegates are: Dana Kagan, Abhilash Kurup, Albert Li, and Jansen Wong.

The Village School student delegate is Britney Trachtenberg.

North Middle School student delegates are: Dylan Brenner, Brandon Reed, and Jules Sanders.

South Middle School student delegates are: Rose Angelaras, Malina Khan, and Jessica Tamari.

The Board has been in the vanguard regarding student participation in school affairs, initiating student delegates in 1975, a practice New York State did not require until 2005.